Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Life Cycles of a Butterfly

Here in Northern Saskatchewan, we are expected as part of our curriculum to include native studies throughout.

So when it came to designing a lesson about life cycles, it's a no-brainer to put the four stages on a Medicine Wheel. In our community, they refer to it as a Circle of Courage. 

Do you know there is no ONE way to put the four traditional colours on the wheel? The colours are in this order in our class because that is the accepted order in our school. I had my EA double check before we started colouring, lol.

We put the seed (popcorn kernel) on yellow because it represents generosity. Babies depend on the generosity of others.

We put our caterpillars (two pipe cleaners wrapped around a pencil and pulled off) on white because it represents Independence. Children are developing Independence.

Our Chrysalis (a dyed shell noodle) on black because it represents belonging. Adults have found their place in the world and belong.

Finally our Butterflies are on Red because it represents Mastery. Elders have mastered their lives and are experts passing their knowledge onto the next generation.

Please note: This is an outsiders view on how the four meanings connect to the the four stages of life.

If you would like me to review other books for kids please leave a comment. It must be useful to either teachers or parents of children age 4 to grade 2.

Want to find awesome resources for your Early Childhood Education classroom?
Visit Reading With Mrs. D on Teachers Pay Teachers
Reading with Mrs D

Today's featured resource: 
Seven Sacred Grandfathers Teachings Scrambled Sentences PL

Help support Reading With Mrs. D and our family. Join Swagbucks and we can both earn money to spend on our kids!

No comments:

Post a Comment

You Love me, you really love ME!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...